Stat Attack: Thruxton

Stat Attack: Thruxton

With a week having passed since the BTCC circus descended on Hampshire for the third meeting of the year, it’s about time to sit down and take a look at the major stats that came out of the race weekend.

As ever, there was some interesting information that emerged from the spreadsheets after the Thruxton weekend, as can be seen below…


Tom Ingram became the first driver to secure two pole positions during the 2016 season.

Gordon Shedden failed to qualify inside the top ten for the first time since Snetterton last year, as did Mat Jackson.

Jeff Smith qualified in the top ten for the first time since Rockingham 2013.

Second on the grid for Aiden Moffat marked a career best qualifying result – his previous PB having been eighth at Rockingham last year.

Adam Morgan, Jeff Smith, Aiden Moffat, Andrew Jordan, Michael Epps and Kelvin Fletcher posted their best qualifying performances of the season.

Gordon Shedden, Mat Jackson, Jack Goff, Colin Turkington, Rob Collard, Rob Austin, Ollie Jackson, Warren Scott, Chris Smiley and Stewart Lines posted their worst qualifying performances of the season.

Tom Ingram holds the best qualifying average of 2.33 after three rounds, ahead of Ash Sutton (3.67) and Josh Cook (4).

Tom Ingram, Ash Sutton, Josh Cook, Matt Neal and Aron Smith are now the only drivers to have qualified inside the top ten at every meeting.

Race Day:

Adam Morgan became the first double winner of the season – a feat matched later in the day by Mat Jackson.

Andrew Jordan secured his first win since Croft 2014 with victory in race two.

Martin Depper secured the best result of his BTCC career with fifth in race one; only the third time he has finished in the top ten.

Jake Hill secured a first top ten for Team HARD since the 2013 season finale.

Michael Epps became the first Jack Sears Trophy winner other than Ashley Sutton.

Sam Tordoff competed in his 100th BTCC race in the first race of the weekend.

Adam Morgan secured three bonus points to give him the most this season with five – one ahead of Tom Ingram and Mat Jackson.

Only five drivers – Jack Goff, Mat Jackson, Michael Epps, Rob Cllard and Sam Tordoff – have now completed every racing lap.

The decision to shorten two races at Thruxton mean there have been three laps fewer than were originally planned this season.

Andrew Jordan led his first laps since the 2014 season – becoming the eighth person to lead a lap this year in the process.

Adam Morgan has now led the most laps this season, with a total of 44 being three clear of Mat Jackson

Drivers have now done battle across 278.04 miles of competitive action, 17.01 miles less than planned after the shortening of the Thruxton races.

There are now no drivers with a 100 per cent scoring record after just nine races of the season.

Matt Neal and Adam Morgan have the most podiums this season, with four apiece.

Jack Goff now has more fastest laps this season than in his BTCC career to that point.

Jack Goff, Sam Tordoff and Adam Morgan have the most fastest laps this season, with two apiece.

The Ford Focus now has the most wins this season with three – one more than the Honda Civic Type-R and the Mercedes A-Class.

The Honda Civic Type-R now has the most podium finishes this season with seven – two more than the BMW 125i M Sport and the Ford Focus.

The BMW 125i M Sport now has the most fastest laps this season with four – one more than the Mercedes A-Class.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
If you enjoyed this post, please consider leaving a comment or subscribing to the RSS feed to have future articles delivered to your feed reader.